Моисей и бронзовый змей

Эта бронзовая статуя Баруха Мааяна установлена у входа в отель Гильгаль.
 

Моисей и медный змей


Большинство посетителей узнают в этой статуе Моисея, но часто ошибочно предполагают, что она иллюстрирует переход через Красное море. Статуя запечатлела менее известное событие, которое произошло во время скитаний народа Израиля по пустыне, описанное в Книге Чисел, глава 21-я. Бог велит Моисею изготовить медного змея и водрузить на посох, чтобы каждый из сынов Израилевых, кто посмотрит на него с верой, знал, что излечится от змеиных укусов.


Сцена, запечатленная в этой скульптуре, произошла после долгих странствий сынов Израилевых по пустыне. Они стали жаловаться, роптать и говорить о потере веры в Господа. В того самого Господа, который вывел их из Египта, творя чудеса и посылая знамения, который являлся им в виде облачного и огненного столпа, дал им хлеб с неба и воду из скалы.


Глава 21-я повествует о том, что народу Израиля надоел хлеб, который Бог дал им с неба, и выступил народ против Моисея и Господа: «Зачем вывели нас из Египта, чтобы умереть в пустыне?» И тогда настигла их кара: ядовитые змеи стали жалить людей, и многие умерли. И сказал Господь Моисею: «Сделай себе змея и выставь его на знамя. И ужаленный, взглянув на него, останется жив». 


Следуя указаниям Господа, Моисей сделал медного змея и поместил его на посох, тот самый посох, которым он вершил много чудес перед народом Израиля. Каждый, кого ужалила змея, смотрел на медного змея, моля Господа о спасении всем сердцем своим, и исцелялся. 


Вот почему змей на посохе стал международным символом медицины. Но, как уже бывало, символ Божьего спасения стал объектом идолопоклонства. Многие годы народ Израиля поклонялся изображению медного змея. Как сказано во Второй Книге Царств, 18:4, Езекия, царь Иудейский, разбил его: «Уничтожил медного змея, которого сделал Моисей, потому что до самых тех дней сыны Израилевы поклонялись ему и называли его Нехуштан».

Moses and the bronze snake

This statue by Baruch Maayan is featured at the entrance to Hotel Gilgal.
 
Most guests recognize this statue as Moses but often mistakenly assume that the event portrayed is the crossing of the Red Sea. The statue depicts a less famous account that took place while the Israelites wandered in the wilderness. In this story from the book of Numbers, chapter 21, God instructs Moses to make a bronze snake and put it on the staff so that all who look to it in faith will heal from the plague of snake bites.

The plague struck the people of Israel because of their murmuring and complaining against Moses. Often during their travels in the wilderness, they complained, rebelled and expressed lack of trust in God. The God who delivered them from Egypt with great signs and wonders, who appeared to them in a pillar of fire and cloud, providing them with bread from heaven and water from the rock and who was leading them to a promised land.

In the story told in Numbers chapter 21, the people of Israel were tired of the bread that God brought down from heaven. They were complaining to Moses for food saying: " "Why have you brought us up out of Egypt to die in the wilderness?” but as the plague of snakes came upon them the people were dying and cried out in repentance. Then God said to Moses, "Make a snake and put it up on a pole; anyone who is bitten can look at it and live.”

According to God's instruction, Moses made a bronze snake and set it on the staff, the very staff with which he performed many miracles in the sight of Israel. Anyone dying from a snakebite, who would looked to the bronze snake, seeking out the salvation of God in his heart, will be healed.

This sculpture symbolizes the healing and salvation offered by God to his children when they turn to him in faith and he delivers them even from the results of their sin.

Today the snake on a pole is the international symbol for medicine. However back then this very symbol of God's salvation became an object of worship and idolatry. This fact is recorded in the second book of Kings 18:4.  Hezekiah, king of Israel, destroyed it and broke it into pieces: "He broke into pieces the bronze snake Moses had made, for up to that time the Israelites had been burning incense to it.”
 
Quality canvas prints of Baruch Maayan's paintings can be purchased at the hotel or by contacting the artist.